Hi there! Sunday services are online while our new home is undergoing renovations. Check back regularly for updates!

Our Story

How it all started...

Unity of Fort Lauderdale (UOFL) celebrates 69 years of existence! We were founded in 1951 and met in the Governor’s Club Hotel and then the Women’s Club on Las Olas Blvd.
In January 1958, the renowned Rev. Elizabeth Sand Turner took over the leadership of UOFL.  Rev. Sand Turner authored several important books in the Unity curriculum like “Your Hope of Glory” and “Let There Be Light”.  UOFL purchased a house at 210 SE 10th Terrace, but soon attendance required a larger facility.

Expanding the vision...

In 1963, UOFL purchased land at 1800 NE 6th Court in Victoria Park. A prominent local architect Richard C. Reilly designed the Victoria Park location. Ground breaking took place on April 18, 1964. It was dedicated on Thanksgiving 1964, and the educational building opened in 1965.

In 2011, the Victoria Park chuch was sold. Our beloved stained glass and the “12 Power” garden stations were lovingly placed into storage. The congregation moved into the old SunTrust bank building on 26th Street in Wilton Manors in 2012. The building proved to be an extensive renovation, and it was sold in 2015.


Today, UOFL is grateful, that Spirit continues guiding and blessing us!
With that being said,  a new home for Unity of Fort Lauderdale quickly became  true and realized on 6/1/2021.

We are excited to announce that we closed on our new home in the North Beach Neighborhood of Galt Ocean Mile at 3331 Northeast 32 Street Fort Lauderdale, Fl 33308!

This location is  just North of Oakland Park Blvd and just West of A1A, between the Intracoastal Waterway & Atlantic Ocean in Fort Lauderdale.

Sunday services will continue to be online on our website, app, and Facebook Live as we undergo renovations.  Check back for regular updates! 

History of Spiritual Leadership at Unity of Fort Lauderdale

Rev. Maud Guitteau 1951-1958
Rev. Elizabeth Sand Turner 1958-1969
Rev. John Rankin 1969-1970
Rev. John Bronfmon 1970-1972
Rev. James Heinecamp 1972-1993
Rev. Larry Henson 1994-1995
Rev. Alfreda St. Tours 1995-1996
Rev. Michael Smith 1996-1997
Kathleen Bishop (LUT) 1997-1998
Rev. Katherine Medici 1998-1999
Rev. David Florence 2000-2001
Rev. Tita Calzada 2001-2015
Rev. Marty Newman (Transitional Consultant) 2015-2016
Rev. Elizabeth Longo 2017- 2019
Bryan Sawchuk (Spiritual Leader) 2020 - Present

Be a part of our story...

Sunday services are live here on our website, app, or Facebook Live @ 10 AM